Son of God, Love’s Pure Light

Yes, it is that time of year. The time that makes everyone just a little bit happier and can usually melt the meanest of grinches.

CHRISTMAS MUSIC IS UPON US. And Christmas. Of course.

I have never been into Christmas music as much as I am this year. I have my pandora going at all times from the minute I wake up, to the minute I lay down and turn the computer off. Sufjan Stevens, Bing Crosby, and Frank Sinatra (as well as a few others whose names I cant remember at the moment), yall have made my Christmas season a lot more enjoyable. The studying for finals, and actually doing the take-home final, just got a whole lot more enjoyable.

Anyways, there is actually a point to this post, and not just me babbling about how I love pandora at the moment. My favorite Christmas song has ALWAYS (and without a doubt) been Silent Night. I was an angel in my pre-k Christmas play at the church school that I went to when I lived in Gatesville, and we sang Silent Night. This is one of my first memories. And probably my fondest. I love everything about this song. So I am not even going to try to explain why I love each part, because I probably couldnt even begin to put it into words. But there is still, an actual point to this post.

We are getting there. Slowly. But I promise, it will all come together here in a minute.

When I was younger, my grandmother gave me an angel music box that she used to always put out for Christmas. It was my favorite of her decorations because it has the music to Silent Night. I would always turn it on and just look at it and listen to it for hours. She has a candle in her hands and it lights up with the beat of the song. I was hooked. I fell in love.

I have always kept this angel with me. I put it out every year at Christmas. And I play it all the time. It makes me smile and reminds me of the true reason for Christmas. The words to the song says it all.

I was inspired. I wanted to share this with everyone because it melts my heart so much. I love my Grandmother more than anything in this world. She has always been a constant in my life and has an incredible way of making the worst things just seem not bad at all. She is the glue of our family. She holds us together when we all fall apart, as a family or just on those days where nothing seems to be right in the world. She reminds us that we are blessed by a God who loves us more than we can ever imagine. And we are blessed, with the best Grandmother/Mother and family that anyone could ask for.

Silent night, holy night
Son of God, love’s pure light
Radiant beams from Thy holy face
With the dawn of redeeming grace
Jesus, Lord, at Thy birth

My sweet angel got damaged in my last move. I was seriously distraught when I saw that a wing had broken. I wish I could fix it but I dont know where the other wing is. I am still looking for it. But my angel is still sitting on the stand, and plays Silent Night for me.

I melt.

About lindseyshelburne

Lindsey Louise Photography is run by Lindsey Turner! I am located in Copperas Cove, TX. Please email me at lindsey@lindseylouise.com or visit my website, lindseylouise.com for information on a photo session! Thanks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

