14 years later

“…just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless”- Ephesians 5:25-27

This very well could be confusing to anyone reading this, especially as you read on and see what I announcement I have. The passage is talking about how the Lord is our bridegroom. It is a visual of how a husband is supposed to love his wife. And a visual for how the church is the body of Christ and how we should love on one another and encourage each other. But I just took these couple of verses because of what I got to do today.

I got baptized. 14 years after accepting Christ into my life, I announced to the church that He is my everything.

The church body that I am a part of has finally made me feel the true, unchanging love of Jesus. I have the greatest small group and friends that a girl could ask for. I have never had that in my life. I have never had anyone speak truth to me in the kindest way. My heart has never been so open to either.

The reason why I chose that verse though to illustrate this though is because it is part of my testimony. Most of you know that I had my world turned upside down this semester. A couple weeks after looking at engagement rings with a boy that I loved with my whole heart, he said adios. But in hindsight, the Lord had prepared me. I thought I was dying. The worst feeling in the world. But I went to church with the coolest roommate, and I cant even tell you what the sermon was about. I just prayed the whole time and felt the biggest tug on my heart that I had felt in a long time. I felt like I was where I was supposed to be. Which was weird because I didnt even want to be in this town at all. After church I walked up to a sweet friend and told her I needed to be in a small group. And the Lord put in the most perfect small group for me. These girls have spoken  truth into my life that I could ever imagine. After going from expecting a ring this semester, to feeling completely empty, I can tell you that leading up to this morning, I was a nervous wreck. Kind of like a bride might feel.

It might sound silly but I seriously felt like I was getting married this morning. I gave my entire life to the Lord 8 years ago and today it felt like I put on the ring. Its an incredibly, overwhelming feeling.

Here is too the new season of life.

 

About lindseyshelburne

Lindsey Louise Photography is run by Lindsey Turner! I am located in Copperas Cove, TX. Please email me at lindsey@lindseylouise.com or visit my website, lindseylouise.com for information on a photo session! Thanks!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 14 years later

  1. Katelyn says:

    Lindsey, I am so happy for you! 🙂 Hugs and love, chica!

  2. Ryann says:

    love you girl. so excited and happy for you!

  3. Mom says:

    You are a beautiful and amazing testimony of God’s love and grace. As I read your blog this quote came to my mind “The Will of God Will Never Take You Where the Grace of God Will Not Protect You” As your world was so dark and bleak God was preparing you for so much more! He was there with you when you thought your world was falling apart and he was there today, as he has been everyday! He is faithful and he will never disappoint you! Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” – Hebrews 13:5 NKJV
    I wouldn’t have missed this day for the world and I am couldn’t be more proud of you than I was this morning!

Leave a Reply

