Letters to You

Today has been 2 years since you went away from us. Since my brother lost his best friend, since your sisters lost their brother, and since your parents lost their son. Since sooo many of your brothers in the military lost you.

Last year, it still didnt make sense to me. And I think to a lot of people. This year, today isnt any easier. But I can make more sense of it these days.

You see, Josh, you are still working in our lives. We can still feel you here with us. That happened not too long ago to me.

My sweetness is commissioning into the Army in August. When we were still “just talking” he asked me how I felt about it. I knew immediately that it didn’t scare me and that it was something I was proud of for him. But when things got a little more serious and I learned what his job in the Army was going to be (not that he tried to hide it, I just had to consider it a little more) I still knew that I wasn’t scared but I couldn’t quite put into words why.

And then I talked to my sweet ma about it and this is what we decided. From my incredible man of an uncle, to one of my best friends from high school, to you.. You all came home. And you all enjoyed doing what you did. Any person that was ever around you, knew that the Army was your life, Josh. It was something you were proud of. Which is why it was so hard for everyone when you were taken in the senseless act that took you from us. You were taken from us at home.

When He wants us home, He will take us home. That is why it is easier for me to write this post this year.

You are still working down here. I know it. I have felt it. And I have a feeling that you will continue to work down here for a long time.

Still missin’ ya. Always will.

About lindseyshelburne

Lindsey Louise Photography is run by Lindsey Turner! I am located in Copperas Cove, TX. Please email me at lindsey@lindseylouise.com or visit my website, lindseylouise.com for information on a photo session! Thanks!
This entry was posted in Life Lived. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letters to You

  1. Mom says:

    I don’t think there is a day that goes by that I don’t think of Josh. When your son loves someone as much as he loved Josh, you can’t help but love him too! He blessed my life by being a blessing to my son! Josh you are dearly missed by many!

  2. Cami says:

    Lindsey- I am really looking forward to meeting you. On this post, I can so there is no greater privilege to have someone you love serve our country. God doesn’t want us to live our life in fear, but in victory. You nailed it- when He wants us home, it’ll happen regardless if we are in the desert overseas, in the air flying a jet, or walking our dog down the street. Looks like Josh left quite an impact. Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

