2012 in Review

Wowza. This year has been a bit crazy! And oh, how I have grown.

The year started with me knowing that I would be doing photography full time. I graduated from the Texas A&M and just dove right in to learning how to run a business. I knew there would be a huge learning curve because I really didn’t know much about running a business. But I am determined, and was a year ago, to pursue my dream. And I made it work!

A few things that were awesome from the last year..

I launched my website! (and just re-designed a few things) lindseylouise.com

I ran a fun week-long Spring Break sessions deal in Houston and had some amazing photos come from that week. It really was the beginning of me specializing my business and learning what I loved the most.

My first senior season was so good. I had many college seniors let me take tell their stories and they were all wonderful. And now, I get to keep up with them and many are doing amazing things!

My summer was spent doing some soul searching. It was very quiet around these parts but the silence was screaming at me. I felt led to focus much of my business on families and babies. And what a blessing that decision has been.

I decided in the summer to volunteer for an organization called Preemie Prints. I have met so many families that have stories full of strength and hope. Their babies are so beautiful and I am overwhelmed that I get to tell their stories.

I got a film camera at the beginning of the summer and spent a lot of time playing with that at the beginning of the summer. I seriously love it!

I was also able to capture a very special moment in July. My grandparents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary and I will forever treasure those photos!

I was able to travel to Daytona Beach, Florida with Lucas’ family and the youth group at their church. We attended the Student Life conference which was Louie Giglio and Chris Tomlin for a whole week! It was a.maz.ing to see teenagers in worship and loving Jesus.

In October, I ran my first mini-session weekend where I got to meet many wonderful families. Most of those families have given me great encouargament and also really blessed me with allowing me to stay involved in capturing thier family moments. I just dont know that it gets better than that. The best compliment.

I also shot my first wedding in October! It was so fun and such an honor to celebrate with this couple and their family. But it really showed me that I belong in portrait photography.

Another amazing October moment.. My underwater engagement session! It was cold! But soooo awesome. The photos from that session were small in number but made such a huge impact. I am excited to also be shooting this couples wedding. They are having my kind of wedding. And it will be in the mountains of Georgia. Stay tuned for that!

The sweet families from October continued into November and December. I designed many Christmas cards and was blessed by each client so much.

My 2012 ended in 2 very special sessions for me. Many of you know that I fell in love in 2012. Lucas’ sister is expecting a baby girl in February and I excitedly shot her maternity session. The very next day, the whole family did a little shoot and my love and I were able to get great photos with his family! Such a blessing.

Here are some of my favorite photos from the year.

blog_0026 blog-4 blog-7 blog-3 blog-13 blog-9blog-1 blog-18 blog-21 blog-14 blog_0027 blog-12 blog-6 blog-15 blog-17 blog-16blog-22 blog-24

The last two will have their own blog posts! Coming very soon!

And now for some of the summer fun. On Film! And the line in all the photos is from my scanner. I should get a new one..

blog-1 blog-10 blog-19 blog-5

I have many goals for 2013. Reading more business books,  getting connected to some of the photographers that I follow in Houston, taking more baby photos and continuing to follow and grow with my families. Hopefully a new camera will show up in the studio and my name will show up on a baby inspiration blog! Many changes have already been made during December. Most of my January will be spent traveling. And most of my February will be spent taking photos of a sweet baby girl.

I already have amazing bookings throughout the whole year so if you are interested, please contact me soon. My website did get a pretty fun make over with all updated galleries!

I really hope your 2012 was great. I hope you make sweet resolutions for 2013 and that you are able to accomplish each and every goal you set for yourself.

Happy New Year, sweet friends!

About lindseyshelburne

Lindsey Louise Photography is run by Lindsey Turner! I am located in Copperas Cove, TX. Please email me at lindsey@lindseylouise.com or visit my website, lindseylouise.com for information on a photo session! Thanks!
This entry was posted in Baby Plan, Family, Life Lived, Maternity, Newborn, Preemie Prints, Senior and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

